10% commission difference

Hi,

My first post as I’m new to this industry. I welcome everyone’s experience and opinion. I have the opportunity to pick between 2 roofing companies to work for in Dallas TX area. Suppose 2 companies are pretty much equal but the diffence is 10% in commission. In exchange for giving up the 10% amount the company with the lower commission has canvassers ahead of me knocking door’s getting the leads and then I focus on the selling. Is this worth it? Appears that I might save alot of knocking and wasting time or do you think as a newbie I must knock to gain experience or what? The highest commission has no canvassars of course or leads. What questions do you have for me? Let me know. Glad to be your peer.

I see that this post has been “liked” 2 times. What does that do or mean for a post? Just wondering but dont want that question to take over the post. Thanks for your time.

Out of curiosity some random questions.

What qualifies you to be an effective closer if you are given leads? Do you have a sales background? Roofing background?
Why would a roofing company give you highly qualified leads without relevant experience.

Do both companies pay you commission off the total job including backend money? Will both open up their books to show you actual job costs?

I love leads and referrals but having knocked a lot of doors makes me appreciate them even more. Not saying that’s the only route. Just wondering what I learned knocking doors that I might not have otherwise.