Angies List scam or no?

Ok, I am somewhat new to Angieslist, i have gotten a couple good reviews from customers, which i thought was fine. Now i keep getting calls from Angieslist salsemen wanting me to pay a few thousand dollars a year to be at the top of the list on a rotating basis. What happened to the advertising that says contractors dont pay to be on Angies list? Sounds decitful to me, but real question is does it work? Does anyone on here pay to advertise on Angieslist. They want a one year contract, no trial period. I actually do very little advertising & doubt i will with them but im still curious what everyone else thinks.
This really sounds to me like just anothe BBB but at least they only want a few hundred dollars.

I read about Angies list on the internet. I read a few good comments about it but never really tried listing. Its would be best if you’ll clarify things with them. If you aren’t listed then don’t pay even a single dollar. I hope you’ll get even more careful on advertising. Internet is a place of scammers just don’t get fooled the next time.

I did a free listing on angies list a couple months ago. Since then a couple of my clients have went on there and gave me some great reviews. I’ve developed an A rating. I have not gotten any work directly from their site, however it just makes us even more of an accredited business. To be able to advertise or tell a potential client we are A rated on angies list just adds more to the business and I’m not paying anything so why not.

Angie’s List can seem hypocritical at times and is often irritating to deal with. However, we’ve won their Super Service Award pretty much every year at every location. It varies location to location but we’ve gained lots of business from Angie’s List leads. We’ve worked hard to earn that, the vast majority of our Customer reports read very, very nice.

Do you get these leads based on your reviews alone or do you also ay to advertise with Angies List?