EPDM step and apron flashings

Was just wondering if any one in the states uses this method? Its very common in nz.
You can look at my suppliers specs if ya like @ www.asphaltshingle.co.nz.

Let me know what you think.
choice one bro :mrgreen:

or canada (sorry kage) :mrgreen:

Also check out the EAVE detail on the specs page. something different ey?

Nice site you have there…

So you’re using rubber for your flashings then. Interesting. Seems like it would work fine although metal looks nicer. :smiley:
I like the eave detail. I have seen a few homes like that in richmond city area, old ones. I doubt they had proper air gap and all but I think that is a good method. I

t would take me a while to get used the metric system.

Roofer r… its my suppliers website, im a contractor. If i could afford that website id be of the tools :stuck_out_tongue:

yeah the EPDM rubber works well, have been told its life will far out live metal. It actually looks good because you dont see it.

The apron flashing sits on top of the back part of the second to last shingle, then a face or top course shingle is cut and applied over the top.Because there is know where to nail the top course, you lift up the double laminate (very carefully) mastik under the top course where you are gona nail witth a U shape(so if water gets in behind it runs awey from the nail) Then nail and mastik then put the double laminate back down.

Hard to explain. Essentially you dont have a metal apron flashing over the top of the shingle, its all hidden, looks good, and works very well.

yes metric is a little different.
Tet if you asked a NewZealander how tall they are, they would refer to feet and inches. strange!

butynol;

Is that a flexible membrane? or somewhat stiff so it holds it’s bent shape?

That eave detail won’t work around the northern states that have ice and water backup problems.

rubber outlasting copper or stainless steel?
i dont think so.

but you can us it for flashing.

gweedo.