First Time Homeowner Reroof Question

Hello,

Wanted to start off by saying I have no experience with roofing other than cutting out a roof deck for a ridge vent a few years back. I’m a decent DIY’er that’s mechanically inclined and loves new tools.

I have a 20 year old detached garage with 20 year old 3 tab shingles. It’s a simple gable roof (5/12, I believe) with one penetration for a powered ventilator. The roof still appears to be in serviceable condition with no past or current leaks as far as I can see. There are handful of shingles with material missing from hail presumably, and there are only a few shingles that appear to be cupping at the tabs, which appears to be caused by tree debris that has gotten under them and can be cleared out.

This roof has no underlayment which is making me nervous - the shingles are nailed directly to the 3/4" plywood. The garage is drywalled and the roof deck is supported with 24oc 2x4 trusses.

Given the age of the 3 tab shingles, I would like to get ahead of this vs. waiting to see water spots on the garage ceiling.

In your opinion would this roof be a good candidate for a reroof w/ architectural shingles vs. tear off?

I’m not opposed to doing a tear off if needed, but I will be a lone wolf for this project and don’t want to create extra labor for myself if it isn’t going to help me out in the future. I probably won’t live here for more than 5ish years so I personally am not concerned with what happens the next time this roof needs to be replaced.

Any help/insight greatly appreciated. I’ve always loved the sound of roofers shooting their nailers so regardless of reroof or tear off, I cannot wait to get up there and blast off a million nails.

Edit: Images

While it’s always better to tear off, this is the type of job I would be willing to go over with another layer of shingles and not have any worries about it.