Framing question

Having an argument with someone need some help.

Built an outdoor kitchen. Now time to make the cover (gable roof) for it. What is the longest run I can make on the sides between support beams. (using 6x6).

The patio cover is a simple 22’ x 12’ rectangle with exposed rafters and a 6:12 gable roof.

Doubled 12x12 should support 12-14’ span.
I would do that with 45 degree braces on each side which shortens the actual span.

[quote=“tinner666”]Doubled 12x12 should support 12-14’ span.
I would do that with 45 degree braces on each side which shortens the actual span.[/quote]

support beams every 12’ with 45 degree braces was my plan. HOWEVER… the homeowner doesnt want a support beam in the middle of one side… on the 22’ side. So to make him 100% happy, I need to find a way to make a 22’ run without any support beams.

Steel I beam is the only thing I can think of to go that length.

Dammit Jim, I’m a roofer, not a carpenter!

6-8" I-beam or steel truss. I don’t think a mirco lam will work.

Just to clarify, that 22’ run will, or will not have the rafters sitting on it?

yes it will. the rafters will come off of the 22" length. the 12" run will be the open end of the gable.

Thinking about this, you better worry about ‘point-loading’. A 6x6 probably won’t be able to handle the load. And, by the same token, how big and deep will the footers be at the point loads? They also enter into the equation.

You’re going to need this project ‘engineered’. Have the HO get an engineer to spec it and sign off on it. It’s getting past my expertise now on what will or won’t pass an inspection and hold up.

I’ve an idea. Let me see if I can draw it in paint. Still can’t use my Pro Sketchup.

yea, i thought about going to a larger support beam once we started talking about steel. i may do steel support beams, then brock or rock around them for cosmetics. I can bury the footers as deep as I want.

Some one here likes “Star Trek”…hint War goddest