Help or Hindrance

Just curious here…while I have been involved in selling and marketing for a long time, I have had limited experience in the roofing industry. However, one thing has always helped drive my sales in whatever industry I have beenin and that has been the ability to establish differentiation.

I’ve been browsing all the posts here and have concluded that this site is powered by a bunch of professionals. It is obvious that everyone here has a passion for, not only *what *they do, but helping *others *as well. Even though some of you may even compete and play on the same grounds, at the end of the day, you all seem to share a certain level of comradery.

I’ve also been browsing web sites from roofing organizations all over the country and have seen a lot of good stuff. However, something I have not seen much of is any reference to the NARI, or The Qualified Remodeler. Affiliation with both, as I see it, can appear to be a big deal to a prospective customer. Especially when working an area where competition could be plentiful. Or am I wrong? Since the Qualified Remodeler Top 500 list is based soley upon a company’s SALES, I can see how many professionals here can benefit from being on that list. Remember, it’s all in *how *it is presented. And affiliation with the NARI pretty much speaks for itself. Again…differentiation.

And now, founded in 2010, there’s a new comer to the industry with buyer beware videos plastered all over YouTube, Verified Service Reports. They seem to have a hard-on for the roofing and remodeling industry, especially those involved in storm chasing. They have targeted storm-prone St. Charles, St. Louis and Phoenix, canvasing them with their special “Home Services Directory”. For any of you here that may work those areas, it may very well be worth your time looking into and perhaps seeing what you need to get on their good side? I’m sure it’s just a matter of time before they grow into all other areas of the country.