Home Depot - Lowes vs Distribution

What do you see in the future for distribution if HD and Lowes continue to sell Laminates at $12-$15 per sq lower than a distributor? I have been selling residential and commercial materials for five years and I am seeing more roofers / customers picking up their materials from the box stores. Also, twenty five year three tab in my area is at $17.50 per bdl from the the box stores where we are at $21. Do you think that GAF / OC realize what they are doing to distribution and why would they do this?

Of course, a lot has to do with the buy price. HD & Lowes probably buy that much better than the distributor and pass it along. Also, as distributors reduce their inventory of products and follow the “we’ll bring it in for you” model, their worth diminishes to the roofer and, for that matter, the manufacturer.
Most distributors used to hire and train people to know the products they stock and how to help their customers. In today’s world, an awful lot of people working for distributors don’t know the products nor what they are selling. They certainly have no knowledge of the work their customers do on a day in and day out basis. Because the people you see are “only counter people” they don’t get the management attention they deserve. Maybe a few of you guys need to sit down with that counter person and educate them. It will help you in the long run.
I know this is a very broad brush comment on distributors…most of them are darn good and go above and beyond what is required of them.

What HD and other big boxes don’t offer is skilled rooftop delivery (although some distributors do deliver for HD & Lowes) and, more importantly, credit terms. The big boxes don’t have the depth and width of products used for a single purpose…roofing.

The bottom line is that a professional roofer should support a professional distributor.