How to run shingles in a valley correctly

I am a framer by trade. I am building an addition to my house. I have a very gradual shed roof on the back of my house - maybe a 2 inch pitch. The addition is a standard a-frame roof w/ an 8 inch pitch. I have laid sleeper valleys on the shed roof for my rafters to die into. Once I have the plywood on, I know that i need to take a foot or two of the shingles off of the shed roof beside the new valley that I have created so I can roll out some valley paper down the valley. (I’m not a roofer so please tell me if this is incorrect) My number one question is, does the shingles from the steeper roof go under the more gradual one or visa versa? Or does it not matter either way? And second, Do i have to use the more expensive valley paper, or can I simply use a roll of thick felt paper down the valley?

buy some Ice and Water Guard/Gutter Guard and you may even want to run some valley tin. Run the lesser slope up onto the greater slope. Then when you shingle the greater slope, cut the greater slope shingles back a couple inches from the center of the valley. Make sure you dont have any nails in the valley or 6 inches or so back.

Well, you will have to remove about 2 feet worth of shingles, measuring from the center line of the valley. Then I would run a piece of ice and water shield straight down the valley. I would not use felt. Although I am sure that many do. Then replace the removed shingles on the lesser sloped roof and run those up onto the steeper roof. Making sure that they span across the valley and up the other roof by at least a foot. Do not nail within 6 inches of the valley. Then roof the other side of roof right over the other shingles. Notch each of these shingles at the top 2 inches at a 45 degree angle away from the valley, to help divert any water into the valley, and cut the valley.

Look @ the wrapper. It’s all there.