Im starting a residential business and looking for advice

Hey guys, Thanks in advance to those who take the time to read the post.

The services I will be offering:

1. Shingle tear-offs
  2. Shingle (3tab / archtitecture)
  3. Shingle layovers (even though I would advise against it)
  4. Re-sheeting
  5. flashing/counterflashing (chimneys ect.)
  6. Rubber roofing
  7. Rubber roofing repair/maintnence
  8. Soffit / Fascia

After working for a residential contractor for about 6 years I finally called it quits due to wanting more money. I now work in a factory and it has truly made me realize how much I belong on the roof. I plan to start my own residential roofing business within the next 2 years. The reason behind the long wait time is I have a family to feed and I am the sole provider for income at the moment. The fiance will be a nurse in 1 1/2 years making a fail safe to not lose everything if the start up is SLOW.
I have a pretty good idea on how to get things started I geuss im looking for advice to see if I am missing anything important, ways to get insurance work “im not a storm chaser”. What nifty programs could be used to make life easier “estimating, book keeping ect” Also any information on having employees like how much would it cost to employ 3 people legit without dishing out the dreaded 1099 form. The business will be located in “Illinois”

**Things to do:

1. Register my business name.
  2. Get Insured + Bonded
  3. Get a residential license (Illinois law)
  4. Get tools / enclosed trailer.
  5. Start marketing. (website / business cards / newspaper ads / radio / door to door flyers / Anything to get my name out)**

Thanks,
Zach Newberry

[quote=“ZachNewberry”]Hey guys, Thanks in advance to those who take the time to read the post.

The services I will be offering:

1. Shingle tear-offs
  2. Shingle (3tab / archtitecture)
  3. Shingle layovers (even though I would advise against it)
  4. Re-sheeting
  5. flashing/counterflashing (chimneys ect.)