Insurance work questions

Guys

Most of my work has been non insurance. A recent hail storm in my area is about to change that. Less than 24 hours after the storm, the seasoned local roofers had signs in many of the yards. Since I’m new to this side of the business i was hoping you could share with me the closing techniques that are used to secure those customers so quickly. Below is a few direct questions.

1. Do you use a contingency agreement for this situation the customer signs giving you the job if the insurance claim is approved? If so could you share how you secure that so quickly. I’m looking for an example of what you say when they answer the door to steer that conversation toward signing an agreement.

2. Once you submit your bid to the customer do you get them to sign an agreement listing you as the copay on the insurance check? If so, do you send that agreement to the insurance company along with your bid ?

I guess what I’m looking for here is a brief description (or long if you have time) of how you go from the knock on the door to quickly securing that customer and getting your sign in the yard. It would also be helpful if you could outline the type and nature of the agreements you get the customer to sign for the entire process. I currently use just one contract with the customers. I get them to sign at the time of the bid but it’s generally done when they accept my bid and are ready to proceed. This is on mostly non insurance jobs. I want to be better prepared for the next storm opportunity to take the right steps to secure customers quickly. Please share your techniques so that myself and others out there can learn how it’s done. Our work is quality and it speaks for itself but without the right approach to secure this type of customer quickly, we will never get a chance to show them how good we are.

[quote=“noserider1234”]Guys