Is Duration better than Oakridge for homeowners?

I’m a homeowner in Kentucky, and this is my first time ever needing to have a roof replaced (it’s not insurance-covered). The roofer my wife and I want to go with is platinum preferred with Owens Corning. We are deciding between Oakridge or Duration shingles ($420 more).

I’m trying to understand if there’s much benefit to us to get the Duration shingles. We don’t care about the color/aesthetic difference. I’ve read about the surenail strip but am having trouble telling if it’s all that beneficial for us as homeowners or if it just helps make things more efficient/accurate for roofers.

Is the roof likely to last longer or have fewer issues if we upgrade to Duration? Or would Oakridge installed by a platinum preferred rated roofer serve us just as well? Thank you for your expertise about this!

Duration, in general, seems to have less manufacturing inconsistencies than the Oakridge. Our installers complain about the Oakridge and seem to love the Duration, that says a great deal. For the small uptick in price, choose the Duration as it is a good product overall. We’ve installed hundreds of OC roofs and the only reason to not promote the Duration is price sensitivity which in this case appears to be somewhat negligible. Good luck!

The Duration is a much better shingle than the Oakridge. The old Duration with the channel nail line was a horrible design. The new cloth nail line is the way it should have been. I’ll give you a piece of advice. Lay out the shingle you are thinking about using. Duration colors are a blend of different shades. Oakridge is more consistent. When you lay it out, you will be glad you did.

Thank you for your help!

Thank you! I appreciate you sharing about the difference

My only beef with OC is the fabric strip across the nail able surface. On low slopes it creates “pondomg” around the nail head and allows the nail head to rust off, allowing the shingle to blow off

1 Like