Ladder and ladder rack question from the new guy

OK, well…so far I am about 3 weeks into this deal. I feel like I am doing pretty well. I have signed 8 deals…although 2 of them were with the owner…6 are all my own.

Anyways, I got a truck. an ‘04 Ram…its nice enough, but has a short bed. I am picking up a 28’ ladder (that seemed to be the general consensus from everyone before), but I know that thing will stick out of my truck a mile. Does anyone do this? just strap it down and let it ride over the tailgait? I do that with the 16 foot…but I think the additional length might be bad…remember I drive 75 miles a day.

I am just getting started so all the money is not flowing in yet…so I dont have a ton to spend. I did see some of those 1/2 ladder racks at harbor freight. I know there stuff is cheep, but I wonder if I could get through the summer with them?

Thoughts? Thanks…

Find yourself a used full sized ladder rack, you will need it.

A 1/2 rack will work.Not too sure about Harbor Freight though.But as Axiom said a full ladder rack will come in handy.I have weekenders but my crews have racks.

Are you experienced with moving/extending a 28’ ladder?

I been looking at Craigslist already, and so far, locally at least I am just finding ones made for an 8’ bed, or for a van. The problem is I need to drive to Hastings (2 hours) to run some appointments i set up on a couple of 2 stories on Saturday…so I need to figure out something.

The other question you asked. NO. To be honest, so far I have managed with just a little 16foot ladder…if you have some tips, tricks etc for handling a 28 foot, I would appreciate it. I am not too proud to learn or take advice! I can ask the guys I work with…I didnt really think about it much…just figured same as a 16 foot but more awkward. lol.

[quote=“mcompton1973”]