Liberty Mutual sending out an Engineer?

New to the group here but wanted to get some opinions. I’m a roofing contractor here in OK and have a Liberty Mutual claim I’m working on. They did their initial inspection with the ladder assist company, Ladder Now, a couple weeks ago. My client received a call from LM stating they wanted to have an engineer come and assess the damage due to “inconsistencies”. Now, I’ve already been in contact with my PA here and he’s ready to jump on board. What makes this even more interesting is, last week, this same property received golf ball sized hail. Liberty Mutual is refusing to do a Re-inspection and insisting on the Engineer. My PA is saying they have never had one good experience with the engineer, Donan, and that we should expect an uphill battle with these guys. I’d love to circumvent the engineer and the PA but that’s not looking plausible. Anyone experienced something similar that has any advice? This is my first dealing with this situation… Thanks in advance

1 Like

Well if they got golf all sized hail on top of the damage you claim they had before, should be a no brained for the engineer to see it!

Here’s what we have done. We have prevailed against Donan the last two times they were invovled.

Go out to the property and inspect the roof shingle by shingle. Chalk up every bit of damage you can find (make certain it is valid). Chalk off a test square on every major slope that has damage that can show 8 to 10 hits in the square. Now take lots of photos from far away (ground or drone, drone is better) and also close ups to document all the damage.

Send the photos to LM via email and ask why the delay in approving the roof when the damages found by a local, professional roofer are quite conclusive. If you have an Attorney, copy them on the email so the LM Adjuster can see it. But do not mention the Attorney. Do all this prior to the Donan Engineer showing up.