Nail gun gauge or chalk line or both?

Im about to put a new roof on. I have no experience so Ive been researching on line mostly. Ive ordered some Owens corning duration shingles. I bought a bostitch RN46-1. It has an adjustable guide
on the bottom for shingle spacing. My question is, If you are using chalk lines is there a reason to use the gauge? It seems to me they’re doing the same thing.
One more question. When using drip edge do the shingles still overhang or just go flush with the drip edge?
Thanks

I don’t rely on a gauge.Actually I took mine off and take them off of all my guns,They get hung up on the shingles.I require everyone to use lines.Depending on their experience either 1 line for every 2 courses or a line for every 4.

My reasoning is when you have 2 or 3 nailers in one area ones eyes are not the same as anothers.Gauges get bumped and go out.The next thing you know you have 2 or 3 roofers looking at guns with tapes and people wasting time and material pulling shingles,checking gauges then arguing about who’s courses are out.

Check your building code for your area but I put at lease 1/4" overhang past the drip edge.

If you never roofed before, I don’t recommend you do it alone without an experienced guide. Certainly not without lines. The problem will be 1,000 people will tell you they are experienced and qualify for the task. But it will turn out that only 2-3 of the 1,000 actually do. VVGL! :expressionless:

Most #15 felt has lines on it. With a tape measure, lay the felt straight, and use those lines for reference.

thanks for the help guys