New to roofing need sales tips

Hello im new to roofing and just wanted to see if anyone out there could give me some tips on door knocking, opening lines, overcoming objections, and closing tactics. Thank you.

1. Learn what it takes to put a roof on & THEN you’ll know what makes a good roof.

IMO, it’s like trying to sell cars & you’ve never driven one.

I have sold cars so I know that whole process and my brother is a sub a builds the roofs so I know the building process. The problem im having is opening lines at the door and overcoming their objections.

IMO you have about 15 seconds to spark interest.And thats if they are truly in need of your services.

I have had doors open and closed before I could see the homeowner.

I also had a homeowner that I nick named Crazy B(&%$#,I heard her scream thru the house as she was coming to the door.I thought it was me.I waited a house down and watched as other knockers were coming down the street.

As soon as they knocked I heard her,funny stuff., I was so confident she could not be signed that I offered other guys $500 to sign her.When I left OKC she was never signed.

What is a good opening line to spark their interest?

If you email me with a number i can walk you threw the whole process

I’m fairly new to, good advice. How about Roofing Certification, like GAF Master Elite and CertainTeed’s Select Shingler, are these worth the trouble? How about Malarkey, do they have an exclusive contractor program?

Gtp1003 How can i get in touch with you. The email on your signature seems to be invalid ?

Really nice tips people. You all have done a great job. Thanks for the suggestions.

Be careful with the word BUT, infact I’d almost scratch it from my vocabulary.

I’m sorry the storm tore off your shingles BUT…
I hate to be the bearer of bad news BUT…