Novice buying Commercial Roofing Co, help with Due Diligence

Hi All,
I’m a 30 year veteran of the IT Consulting business and am closing up my IT Consulting business (want to stop being on the road all the time) and have found a Commercial Roofing business for sale that has I think is a good opportunity to transition into a new business.

This business has a Manager that already handles sales/bidding/vendors/etc. However, the owner currently is also involved in that as well.

My question’s are:

1. How difficult and how long would it take to become suffiicent to operate a Commercial roofing business, being that I’m a novice to this industry. I have experience negotiating contracts for IT Consultants but not in this arena.

2. Who/what would you folks suggest to in the form of resources (either consultant or other) to help me in the Due Diligence phase of buying this company. I expect I might need someone very familiar with this industry.

Thx,
Bob

This is actually a much more complicated industry, specifically the commercial side of the industry then most realize.

I truly believe that to be successful as a commercial contractor you need to have a solid fundamental understanding of how to install a commercial roof- I’d spend a few years installing, estimating, servicing, and selling before I’d jump into managing or running the company.

Check out the National Roofing Contractors Association’s “Future Executives Institute” (NRCA-FEI) as a resource.

@TJ_McKenzie totally agree.

I worked at a 70 plus year old roofing company for many years before starting my own thing. (Repairs and shingles )
Mind you I was in residential but I can tell you that the commercial division was tight. Meaning from the estimating to installing everything was dependent on everyone knowing their role and performing well.
It’s all about the margins and the job running.
Going from IT to roofing is a big leap.
Not undoable just that you may have a steep curve.