Oops. I believe I have done my step flashing wrong. :-(

OK guys, please don’t laugh. I’m in the middle of re-shingling my house. Granted, I’m not an expert at this. But I’m researching every thing and trying to do it all properly. I’m doing the roof in sections. So far, my job has included ripping off two layers of shingles, replacing rotten roof decking, applying new felt and shingles along with step flashing and apron flashing.

When I did my step flashing up the sides of our dormer, I was careful to layer the step flashing with the shingles and also to make sure that I had at least 2" of overlap on the flashing. However, I think there is one crucial requirement that I missed. When I put down a piece of step flashing on top of a shingle, it seems necessary that the bottom edge of the step flashing should be just below the tar strip. Correct?

When I did my layering, I did not ensure this. Therefore, I have some many areas where I have two inches of overlap, but the bottom edge of the flashing is several inches above the tar strip. In hindsight, it seems pretty clear that this will enable the shingles to seal in front of the flashing and causing any water that gets in to get trapped. Am I correct in my thinking?

Thanks,
Bryan

Pics would help.
Your step flashing should be large enough to cover the portion of the shingle that doesn’t show. IE 7 inches on a standard size shingle and 7 5/8" on a metric shingle. Usually they come in 4x4x8 pieces. If you have a larger shingle than this you must bend your own.
As long as you have lapped the flashing pieces 2" and woven them between the shingles it is likely you won’t have a problem. I would like to see what you did.
What is the pitch of the roof?