Owner/Foreman and OSHA violations for Roofing Co

Hello,

My question is regarding OSHA (WISHA for where I live) violations and using the Employee Misconduct Defense when a foreman/owner is on the job site.

First a little about me: I have experience running a civil construction companies, but I am new to roofing and in the preliminary phases in start one up with 2 other people. So far, I have found this site to be very helpful but I cant seem to find much on this topic…

We would like to break down the company into 3 distinct titles for our partnership agreement

1. Administration
  2. Sales/Marketing
  3. Operations

The person in charge of Operations has been in the roofing industry for sometime, and is the only one with extensive knowledge on roofing. He essentially would be a foreman for crews.

Since one of the Owners/foreman is on the site, and since he is the supervisor of the crews, if any violations were to occur, the assumption can be made that he was aware of the violation but failed to correct it. Thus, a citation would be difficult to contest. In addition, we could also be dealing with lawsuits stemming from company negligence etc…

Would we have to then structure the partnership agreement in a way that states that the person in charge of operations is ONLY a member of the company but not a owner?

I would like to know if anyone has any ideas or ways where we can protect the interests of the company yet still have one of the owners act as an owner/foreman. (I am not sure if it is possible but any suggestions would be much appreciated because lawyer fees are damn expensive these days!)

Thanks,
Brian

Sorry, but my understanding that it is the owners responsibilities.