Preparing Supplements & What Qualifies as a Supplement?

Although I talk a big talk I am relatively new at Insurance Work (less than 15 months). So After completing a Substantial Restoration Project there are some issues pertaining to Submitting my Final Invoice in regards to the Estimate compared to my Actual Costs. This lack of knowledge process has undoubtedly cost me thousands left on the table over the last year.

Example:

Sheetrock, hung, and finished $700.00 on Estimate prepared by Adjuster.
My costs were materials $400, In house hanging labor-16 hours @ $55 = $880, I Sub-Contracted finishing $1,200, The difference being $1,780 + O & P (already agreed) $178 + $178 totaling $2,136.00.

Slightly different scenario…Siding materials were also calculated @ $700 and Material Invoice reflects $1,300.

Should I expect the difference?

My thoughts on approach-

Delete Line Item 22, 34 ect.
Actual Costs- As well as attaching Invoices? Or are the Invoices not required, but available along with Returned Check (Taper didn’t actually write me a Invoice, I just wrote the check and memo’d the job as reference).

Not to upset Larry but does Xactimate have this option for actual costs incurred? Does yours Larry?

In retrospect, I have always enjoyed the ease of agreeing a cost prior to work commencing instead of a Final Invoice.

Thank you in advance-
RB

95% of the time we reach an agreed price before we start the work. If you know your costs are not going to be covered on the front end why would you chance losing out on proper payment for the work.

There are situations where the insurance companies even with fact presented in black and white refuse to reach an agreement either because of ignorance or some other reason.