Racked shingles

your thoughts…
pros, cons…
warranty…
future looks…

I have heard myths that when the water bonds line up like they do that it forms a pattern for the water to flow and causes premature wear in the water bonds,but it is only a myth,perhaps it did occur years ago with the thick butt asphalt shingles but not with the fiberglass shingles.All roofs in the southeast are racked on a 30/36 pattern ,I have been doing it this way for 35 years and dont foresee any changes in my area,as there are no problems just myths.All shingle manufactuors warranty this pattern .It is required to run the arcutectual shingles on a 45 pattern but not a 3-tab shingle.cheers

i see racked 3 tabs in my area that are 5 years old and you can def. see the pattern…almost everytime. maybe it has something to do with climate (but i doubt it)

We used to see a pattern which were different shades ,like 1 bundle was a shade lighter than the next bundle but since all shingle are a blend now we no longer see that.The only 3-tab shingles run on a 45 pattern you will see in the southeastern states are only isolated and very few where a roofer came in from Texas and done one before the contractor seen it.I roofed for Action Roofing in Houston for a couple of years doing complaint jobs for GAF so I know both ways to run shingles but I dont know why one area does it one way and another area does it another way .I hope we aren’t beating a dead horse here. http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s4/bushhog_photos/other_beatingA_DeadHorse.gif

I always rack 3 tabs (I don’t see too many though).
It is the only reliable way that I know of to get everything to line up right.
I haven’t noticed any of the patterns you are talking about.

Did you know that Certainteed 30 yr 3-tabs exceed 30 yr Landmarks for wind resistance?

[quote=“-Axiom-”]I always rack 3 tabs (I don’t see too many though).
It is the only reliable way that I know of to get everything to line up right.