Rate shingles/brands in 2018

Hi,

I have been looking at replacing my shingles and have been researching which asphalt shingle to go with.

Every single contractor I have had give an estimate has recommended a different shingle and claimed its “the best” and various others are “total garbage”. It’s been a tad frustrating.

I think I have an idea of relative brand ratings overall, but would like the input from pros or people who are knowledgeable about shingles.

Please rate from best to worst

Malarkey Vista
Malarkey Legacy
Owens corning Duration
IKO cambridge
Gaf timberline HD
BP Mystique 42’s

I am not overly familiar with certainteed and no contractor offered it up as their preferred shingle.

Cheers.

#1 - Legacy

#2 - Vista

#3 - Duration

#4 - Cambridge

I have no experience with BP so I cannot rate them.

1 Like

Bp are better than iko but from what I understand malarkey are standouts. Don’t have them here yet, but everyone I talk to out west loves them

1 Like

The Legacy is the best bang for your buck shingle by a wide margin.

It’s SBS, it’s 300lbs/sq, it has scotchguard, It is impact resistant, It has a high copper content for moss & algae resistance.

Nothing else in it’s price range is even close.

Owens Corning duration for sure.the others are good but I would have oc on my roof.ive been laying shingles for 36 yrs.

IMG_0610.JPG

Owens corning Duration “sure nail” is the best!!
Check it!

They probably are the best for high wind.
But um, uh but um , they uh ——edited.

Hi,
BP No experience
Malarkey is heavy and a hard shingle, depreciation starts at 5 to 7 years - good heavy shingle
Gaf Timberline about 240lb sq - 50 yr warranty if you install per warranty provisions, they do support it to.
Gaf Armor Shield IR4 rating, same 50 warranty, bulletproof, 4 colors, great heavy shingle
Certainteed Landmark, heavy 30yr shingle, very reliable, good colors, 50yr warranty with provisions for install, very good shingles