Re posting a question

So I’ve decided to build a garage. I’ve never built one before, but I do have some basic knowledge and skills. I have nailed shingles to friends houses a long time ago, but I’ve never started and finished a brand new roof before. I would like any helpful input you may have, and I greatly appreciate it.

This is my plan of attack, please correct me if I’m wrong…

1- nail chip board to trusses utilizing the little clips they supplied me with (however I don’t know how many to use down the 4’ and 8’ sides of a sheet)
2- Nail galvanized edging around the outside of the entire roof (both sides and up to the peaks)
3- Lay the sticky felt roll they gave me down… starting at the bottom edge of each side and layering it, overlapping about 2" and work towards the top. (don’t know if I use this all the way up or part way then use tar paper…I’m unsure)
4- all around the outer edge of the roof lay a row of shingles (asphalt) upside down and backwards.
5- shingle the roof (as I’ve done before, staggering ends.
6- cut shingles into an almost pyramid shape…getting 3 per shingle to cap the top of the peak.

Does that sound about right? Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance for any/all help offered.

hire someone or goodluck to ya.

SOUNDS ABOUT RIGHT …but…RUN YOUR(STICKY FELT) 1 COURSE AT THE BOTTOM AND YOUR (TAR PAPER)THE REST OF THE WAY AND GOOD LUCK AS WELL :smiley:

Thanks…

it really isn’t big enough to hire a roofer…and most are busy around here doing real jobs.

Thanks for the input

**1- nail chip board to trusses utilizing the little clips they supplied me with (however I don’t know how many to use down the 4’ and 8’ sides of a sheet) **

Your plywood clips go on the 8’ length of the sheets, 1 between every truss/rafter.
They don’t go between the sheets (the 4’ length) over the truss’s/rafters.

** 2- Nail galvanized edging around the outside of the entire roof (both sides and up to the peaks) **