"Renovate" my roof?

Last week a guy came to my door offering a free roofing inspection. He is a licensed roofing contractor. I took him up on it as I can see that my shake roof (22 years old) has some problems - though no leaks.

Tonight we met to go over the results. He said my roof qualifies to be “renovated” - they basically pressure wash it, replace curling and burned-through shingles, then “paint” it with their fireproof coating. They offer a 12 year warranty; 6 years of 100% material & Labor, then 6 more years 100% labor & 50% materials.

Price is $7400 for my 3000sf of roof area. Includes “restoring” gutters (basically recaulking, I think.)

Tell me, guys, of your professional opinions.

Thanks!

The life of a shake or wood shingle roof can be from 12 to 50 yrs— if I am not mistaken. It depends on a lot of factors. Anyway I’m no expert, just shooting from the lip.

We will shortly be tearing off a 28 yr. old shake roof installed over plywood. There is no “renovating” this one at all.

$7,400 is a lot of money to put into a 30 sq. detiorating roof. If indeed it is. I’d get a 2nd opinion. I’d easily pay $2-300 for an un-biased 2nd opinion.

He knocked on your door? I’d check his references, and more importantly, his past work up close. Licensing doesn’t mean much in most areas.
Not that there is anything wrong w/ knocking on doors…

power washing a roof is not recommended, all sorts of bad things can happen.

Can you post some pics of your roof?
If it needs $7400 worth of “restoration”, it probably needs to be replaced.
A properly applied cedar roof with quality shingles/shakes will last a very very long time…

My professional opinion is to get a second, third and maybe even a fourth opinion. 8k is a lot of work.

For that amount of money for a “restoration”, I would spend just a little more and have it torn off and replaced, making sure you have the cedar breather product installed under the new shakes if you decide to stay with the same type of roof.