Replace roof vent pipe on top of shingles over ice shield

I need to replace the vent pipe boot flashing/flange.
I have 3 rolls of BIRD ice shield, up to 9 feet from roof edge.
I worry that I might tear the ice shield when I take off the shingles surrounding the vent pipe. I also worry that the old nail holes may leak, since the ice shield no longer seal around the ripped off nails.

should I cut a piece of new ice shield, and lay it on top of the existing ice shield (possibly damaged slightly). Can I use the ice shield from Grace (I used BIRD on my roof).

Also the new ice shield patch cannot be tugged in under the next roll of ice shield further up the roof. Is that OK.

This is my first time posting a question on roofing.com. Thank you for any help on such an elementary question.

Why is there 9’ worth of ice shield on your roof? Is it a low pitch or something? Yeah you can just cut a small piece and go over the existing to cover nail holes. Yeah you won’t be able to lap it under the existing at the top but your only real other option is to tear off all the shingles till you are past the ice shield which would be way overkill. No need to make a simple job way harder than it needs to be :wink:

p.s. don’t get fooled into the “ice shield is the only reason roofs aren’t leaking at eves, rakes, flashings, penetrations, and everywhere else you could possibly use it” b.s. lol.

Thank you for responding to my questions in just 4 hours.

After the record breaking snow fall of 2014/2015 winter in Boston, with a record breaking 113.3 inches, 2 of my local roofers suggest 100% coverage with ice shield, even though my house has a 6/12 pitch. Is that a bad idea ? I was told by another roofer, that 9 feet already covered half of my roof, that I should let the house breathe. So who should I believe.

My house is an Acorn deck house, with cathedral ceiling, and no attic.