Roofer Training

Hey guys,

i am a relative new roofer, well at least one that just started his own company. i got a quick question for ya’ll. I want to start getting into insurance claim work and was wondering what kind of specialized training if any i could get for my employees to make them more effective?

any thoughts?

The best training is in the field.Working with ‘old dogs’ is better than any book or school.The best way to teach your guys is to hire someone that has extensive experience.JMO

[quote=“theROOFdude13”]Hey guys,

i am a relative new roofer, well at least one that just started his own company. i got a quick question for ya’ll. I want to start getting into insurance claim work and was wondering what kind of specialized training if any i could get for my employees to make them more effective?

any thoughts?[/quote]

So you are new to roofing, just started a roofing company, and want to chase insurance claims. Hmmmm, I’ll pass.

While there is nothing like on the job training, I still say class room training is also very good. I attended apreticeship school for roofing and yes they did really teach you some things. You got a journeyman certificate from the state after graduating. You have to be union member for this though. There are also many manurfactuers that offer training on there products and GAF and Certainteed will send you a manual for free. I applaud you for recognizing the importance of this. never stop learning.

I agree with all 3 posts.

Here’s the question: new to the business, dont know much about it and you want to run with the big boys chasing storms. Why?