RoofMaxx - legit reason to do this?

I saw an ad for RoofMaxx recently - a service that claims to lengthen the life of an asphalt shingle roof by maybe 5 years by spraying some oil on it I believe. www.roofmaxx.com - they do it at the 8-10 year point. Is the reasoning legit, and is it worth doing?

Never heard of it but after checking out that site…

3 Likes

Furthermore to your reply, it seems the product is made out of soy. If you look at what soy has done to our society I’d be reluctant to have it do that to my shingles as well. I’d wonder whether the shingles would actually last another 5 years or simply just feel entitled to last another 5 years without really doing anything. Hehe.

2 Likes

Too funny - I live in SoCal, transitioned to vegan almost 3 years ago, and just had some tofu curry tonight :slight_smile:
I also work in tech for a K-12 school district. Another source of angst for many because of my pension. And I’m semi-retiring end of this month.
But I’ve never felt entitled, often work on weekends, holidays and vacations, without putting in overtime, for the past 27 years. And at lower pay than I could have gotten in the private sector.
I’m probably not the typical public Union worker, though, to say the least.

So the humor is not lost on me, and I appreciate the banter.

But if less soy is the answer, you might be asking the wrong questions.

This seems like a “current social values” pitch exploiting the prevalent trend toward environmental issues. Without the HISTORICAL data supporting their claims, it’s a hunch you risk getting sucked into every 5 years at approximately $2000 per visit backed by a warranty that seems rather thin. It’s a clever “idea” but there have been many clever ideas in recent years that have never provided enduring value.