Suggestions...how can I get my money

Im new to the biz and have not encountered this problem yet…what would you do??
I sub contracted a crew to install a GAF-timberline architectural shingle roof in nov. the homeowner was unhappy because some of the shingles in the front section of the house didn’t lay flat right away. I explained it just needed some time to lay down and adhere, it would not be a problem. Homeowner waited a few weeks then claimed he had a private inspector look at the roof who told him it was a manufacturers defect.
I said fine, I’ll help you through the warranty recovery process. The homeowner since then has refused to pay (he owes $3k) and will not answer or return calls. It’s a rental so I don’t know where he lives.
Question to you is how can I get my money from him if he won’t pay? Any suggestions other than sueing?

[quote=“Ryan1”]Im new to the biz and have not encountered this problem yet…what would you do??
I sub contracted a crew to install a GAF-timberline architectural shingle roof in nov. the homeowner was unhappy because some of the shingles in the front section of the house didn’t lay flat right away. I explained it just needed some time to lay down and adhere, it would not be a problem. Homeowner waited a few weeks then claimed he had a private inspector look at the roof who told him it was a manufacturers defect.
I said fine, I’ll help you through the warranty recovery process. The homeowner since then has refused to pay (he owes $3k) and will not answer or return calls. It’s a rental so I don’t know where he lives.
Question to you is how can I get my money from him if he won’t pay? Any suggestions other than sueing?[/quote]

The address to the owner of the property will be on the auditor website. Place a lien and a notice in the local paper that you intend to place the lien for legal purposes. Take him to small claims court. I’d have GAF inspect the roof for defects and pray they don’t say it was installer error.