Taxes

IM A 1099 CAN ANYONE TELL ME OF A GOOD CPA THAT CAN HELP ME FROM PAYING ONE THIRD OF EVERY THING I MAKE. GIVE ME ADVICE ON WHAT DEDUCTIONS I CAN USE CHASING STORMS. YOUR ADVICE WOULD GREATLY BE APPRECIATIVE.

No caps please ! “a good acountant is worth there weight in gold”

I have an accounting degree and do taxes during my offseason. Truly though you need to talk to a local accountant. There are so many scenarios that a good accountant wants all the information in front of him and will ask many questions to put you on the right path. However if you didn’t set anything back and your 1099 is big you might be in trouble. I would suggest you download the schedule C from the IRS website and look over the deductions and get the most information compiled that you can and your accountant will guide you from there. Waiting until the last week of tax season won’t help either. This year I suggest you get with your accountant before december and go over your numbers, if you have a good accountant he will tell you what you need to do before the end of the year. Maybe the right time to buy equipment or whatever, just depends on the situation. But get with an accountant as soon as possible would be my advice

And if you can’t afford an accountant, learn your tax laws. After I rooked myself a bunch of years ago I decided to learn what I am entitled to, and what I have to straight out pay for. Ever since then tax season has been great for me.

Over the years I’ve paid anywere from 20-35% of my income to the IRS and state.

If your chasing storms the first big deduction that comes to mind is lodging. If you deduct your “work vehicle” you can either write it off for mileage or actual expense. Any tools such as ladders, note pads, estimating software, pens/pencils, etc. used in your storm chasing outfit can be deducted.

Unless you bought a big ticket item and decide to write it off for 2010 taxes you will be stuck paying your fair share to the IRS.