TruSlate ELK/GAF

Hi Everyone - New to this forum.
I’m a Roofing Consultant in Tampa Area of Florida. Been around 39 years.
I haven’t dealt with TruSlate by ELK/GAF, but boy I have one now.
Home (Castle) has a 19,600 s.f. roof (3 story home), with a 16:12 pitch.
There is a question I have about the vertical battens in the Valleys. I need to see if the installation guidelines have been changed after 2009, so if anyone has a copy dated BEFORE 2009, if I could obtain a copy, it would help me with the Homeowner to see what is happening. I am representing the contractor presently, but no one is talking anything but resolution.
Another issue I have is the polyethylene interlayment that is directly under the slate. It is growing. It has large wrinkles under the slate, but at the end of the 10-12’ sections, it is literally growing as much as 10+ inches into the valleys, curline up and looks really bad. We took 3 and 4 courses off, about 15’-20’ long to investigate. Laps that were 10-12" apart are now only as little as 2" where the product has pulled loose in both directions from the lapping. Craziest thing I’ve seen.

Does anyone have any comment, help, literature, or ??? that can help?
It would be greatly appreciated.
Roofguru in Florida

Your the Guru, you tell us. I dont know what the hell you or they used for an underlayment but it dont sound good. Even way up here in Mass. & NH under my slate roofs & metal roofs I either use Carlisle High Temp or Grace High Temp. Because even up here I’ve seen regular ice & watershield (peel n stick) underlayment melt under metal & slate roof systems.

Thanks for the response.

The problem I am seeing is a discrepancy in the procedures for valley flashings.
The documents from a couple of years ago mentioned and even showed vertical battens. The latest information does not mention them.