Unvented Slate roof, no soffit

My hip shaped roof (1930) is unvented, and the roof runs right to the walls, no over hang. The attic (20 X 25) is only about 4-5 feet high, so the cubic feet of air isn’t much, but it gets HOT in the summer.

I want to vent it, but the truth is, I’m probably going to replace the whole thing in just a few years, so I’m looking to do this cheaply, for now. Even the if it isn’t the best solution, I just want some relief.

I’d like to just put a whirlbird turbine on top, but what do you recommend for intake near the bottom?

I’ve never used this type of forum before, so I’ll try to get a photo involved, if needed.

Any thoughts?

extra insulate the floor of the attic w/unfaced insulation,r-30 or so,leave the roof area alone until you can do it w/a new roof installation

Hi,

Your slate roof is vented. Slate vent themselves.

You can put a turbine there. You will not need intake.

Why are you planing on replacing the slate?

If your house was built in 1930’s and has slate you probably don’t need any extra venting. If you’re replacing in the next 2-3yrs anyways I’d say forget about it till then.

If you really must vent for some strange reason your cheapest way out is going to be a power fan in the roof-top and a couple static vents somewhere in the eave area. Just don’t put the intake where snow sits.

Why in Hell would you want to replace a slate roof ?

You guys have given me a lot to think about. I’ll try to answer some of your questions:

It’s not that I MUST vent. It obviously stood for 77 years w/o it, but as I said, it gets HOT on my 2nd floor. And doesn’t cool off at night. It can go up to 75 in the day, down to 60 at night and my upstairs will stay in the mid 80’s, even with several windows open all night.

But I was going to add insulation anyway, so maybe I’ll do that this w/e. As a conservative first step, and see if that helps. Do you think that it will really help keep the heat from radiating down?