Ventilation Issues?

Hi, I am having what I believe are ventilation issues. We discovered mold in the attics of some of our buildings (apartment complex) and dripping on the nails. Being a former roofer I knew it wasn’t moisture from the gutters and it had to be ventilation. We discovered the soffit vents were covered by insulation and quickly removed it. This corrected the problem on many units but we are still having difficulty with some. The ridge vent is cut fine and we are getting air flow in the attic.

Our rafters run parallel with the gutter and I feel this is the problem (we are now only getting moisture in between the middle rafters). Is there any way to solve this problem without replacing every single (54) roof?

are you sure that is the problem. might not be enough ventilation? i would add a few turbine vents before spending lots of time and money. couldn’t hurt to try on one building.

Do not mix turbines with ridge vent.

How are the rafters running parallel to the gutter? I cannot envision this.

I cannot figure out how to upload a picture on here. The apartments were built in Ohio in the 80’s and shipped to TN. The Rafters are spaced appx 24" apart and are running parallel with the gutter/ridge line going from soffit to ridge. The pitch of the roof is not much (I don’t know how to figure that out)

I agree that it may be the lack of ventalation, and I also agree on do NOT mix ventalations, they will work against each other. I wouldnt think your gutters have anything to do with it unless you have water backing up. Check your attic insulation because if there is a lack of that, heat loss mixed with in poor ventalation will cause your moisture problem. You may want to put on a new ridge vent, sometimes olds venting will get clogged. New stuff will allow better air flow. Check your soffit vents as well to see if there is enough of them. They are just as important as the roof vents are.