Water leaking from behind gutter

I’m in Hershey PA, and have a covered porch roof that never had a gutter on it for 5 years. I just had a gutter put on two days ago, and I’m having water leak from behind the gutter.

I called the company that put the gutter on and he said “he forgot to REMOVE the drip edge when he installed the gutter”. Do you think that will fix my issue, by him removing the drip edge? I’m new at this, and just want the leaking fixed.

I can try to post pics of my setup and make my own video if that will help you guys help me?

Drip edge goes inside the gutter. He should have slid the back of your new gutter up behind the existing edge metal.

edit* http://www.copper.org/applications/architecture/arch_dhb/gutters_downspouts/images/24.gif

Ignore that this spec says “copper”, the configuration will remain the same regardless of gutter material.

Oh, you mean the new gutter should be slid underneath the drip edge? I know the gutter slants to one side for where the water exists, hope that would still work.

Typical gutter pitch is 1/8th inch per foot. This may sometimes drop the back of the gutter below the drip edge. Normally we just cut long strips of aluminum trim coil to span the tapered gap that develops. Bottom line is you want the water going from your roof, onto your drip edge and into your gutter.

Is this on a sloped with shingles roof? Tar Monkeys post depicts a flat roof. But He’s right, the part of the dripedge that goes over the facia board should be over the back of you gutter.

He will have to use strips of metal no matter what…gutter hangers will only let you cover so much…

Thanks for the quick replies. The section of the roof where the gutter was put is 23 ft long. The gutter than was installed is pitched down somewhat to where the water exits down the spout on the left side. I’ll try to get some pics and get my ladder out. I want to be sure what needs to be done before he comes back monday.